Tennis Resorts Online, the Leading Guide to Tennis Travel and Tennis Vacations
Your Definitive Guide To Tennis Travel





Caneel Bay Resort

Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Caneel Bay Resort.

  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis instructor was fantastic.Although I only took a 1/2 hr lesson he managed to give some key pearls that no other pro had taught me. I wish I had taken more lessons."—B.H., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The resort is fantastic! I am a very analytical person and I came to the resort with many technical questions, and somewhat hesitant to play with my limited experience. The Assistant Pro, Will Cochrane, was great. He was MOST welcoming and encouraging. Most importantly, he was able to speak "my language" and answer all my questions. He awakened in me a desire to go out and play more tennis. I am Definitely coming back!!!!"—M.P., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This resort has it ALL ( the tennis, food, beach, staff, natural beauty, accommodations, activities for all ages)! The only suggestion I would make is that there would be some music under the stars a few times during the week. SPECIAL NOTE: The tennis facility is fantastic (plenty of courts, well maintained)! However, THE BEST was the Head Pro Eric Gessner. He is able to improve your game as if he were a magician. He is patient, he teaches so you can understand the concepts, he is accessible, he extends himself past the time if he feels you are "on to something" and he encourages you to keep in touch after your departure if there are any concerns with your game when you are home. One could not ask for better as he is THE BEST Pro I have met!!!!!"—R.P., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "great teaching. wonderful site. great courts. Loved the court's surface."—N.R., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "9 tennis courts and a pro shop in a beautiful setting. 7 courts are synthetic with sand and they can take a lot of water so that you do not miss any paling time. Head pro Eric Gessner is the consummate tennis professional. Very personable, knows the game and is an extremely competent player. I enjoyed my time with him very much."—D.B., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is a wonderful place to play Tennis. The artificial grass & sand surface are impeccably maintained. The surface is easy on the body and enjoyable to play. The staff lead by Eric are first class and very accommodating to arrange games or clinics. There are daily opportunities to play with other visitors both doubles and mixed doubles. They also have a great teaching program with very competent professionals. I'd strongly recommend visit Caneel Bay for tennis. The food and property are very nice as well."—T.P., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities in a spectacular Caribbean beach resort. Courts are a comfortable synthetic grass which dries out astonishingly quickly after rain showers which usually last a few minutes. Eric and his staff wore great hosts and anxious to please. In typical PBI fashion, they have daily clinics, round robins, and player matching. Only drawback is that most visitors and guests are not there for the tennis, which is understandable with the gorgeous beaches everywhere. Locals were plentiful and welcome and were fun to meet and play with. The resort and island are world class!"—J.W., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is the most beautiful setting in which to play tennis, and has a program worthy of its location. From the thrice weekly round robins to the private lessons, this is a terrific place to improve your game. Wil is a wonderful addition to the established program ably overseen by Eric, and my entire family hugely enjoyed Wil's enthusiasm for the game and his invaluable tips. Fresh from division one college tennis, Wil has energy and dynamism and ideas on how to take your tennis to the next level!"—L.T., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I always enjoy Caneel Bay, not only for the sun and snorkeling, but also for the pro there, Eric Gessner. I can't say enough about his teaching skills as he's helped me enormously with my game quickly intuiting what I'm doing and trying to do, but also arranging games and drills for me on a regular basis. A great addition to a heavenly place."—J.F., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Eric Gessner and his assistant Wil run a great program. I took a lesson from Eric and (3) clinics from Wil all of which were outstanding. I also participated in a round robin event that I enjoyed. In addition to being great instructors they are both pleasant and create a great social atmosphere at their clinics and round robins. The facility is beautiful and well maintained. Should I return to Caneel Bay I will again take part in their programs."—J.W., Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent program. Good lessons, drills and match ups. The courts are soft and a bit hard to get used to but work well in the climate and are playable shortly after rain. I highly recommend."—J.R., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The resort is fantastic. I took a few hours of lessons with Wil, one of the pros and made a lot of progress. The staff is very helpful and willing to everything to help you progress as a player. There are also plenty of courts and opportunities to play, as well as lit courts for playing in the evening in cooler conditions. Aside from Tennis the resort is also a great place to swim, enjoy the beach and take in some sun."—B.F., Int., January 2017

See more reviews

Rate Caneel Bay Resort


Ratings

(195 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(195 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

There are multiple categories of lodging at Caneel Bay. The least expensive are those near the tennis complex, the most expensive the beachfront rooms, including the five in Cottage 7, the former home of Laurance S. Rockefeller. Rates are subject to 8% tax and 10% surcharge.

Visit the website for current rates

Caneel Bay Resort
P.O. Box 720
Cruz Bay, St. John, 00831-0720 U.S. Virgin Islands
340-776-6111
Toll-free: 855-226-3358
Fax: 340-693-8280
Email:
Web Link: Caneel Bay Resort

©2017 Roger Cox

Ratings

(195 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating


Expedia.com


©2017 Roger Cox