Tennis Resorts Online, the Leading Guide to Tennis Travel and Tennis Vacations
Your Definitive Guide To Tennis Travel





John Newcombe Tennis Ranch

New Braunfels, Texas


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about John Newcombe Tennis Ranch.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've been to a good number of adult tennis instruction camps. This was my first time to do a full week. I loved the ranch setting in Texas. Weather was ideal, the staff, meals and accomodations were great. The instruction was outstanding - the right pace and amount of content for 5 hours a day. I would go back without question and would highly recommend to anyone looking to improve their skill level and also have a good time."—P.H., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "If you are looking to improve your tennis game then look no further than the John Newcombe Tennis Ranch. I guess that is why my wife and I have been there 10 times in the last four years. We have done the weekend clinic eight times and the weeklong clinic twice. You will get more tennis then the body can handle and an overload of useful and specific info tailored to your game. To me the best thing they do is to keep it to a 4 to 1 ratio, 4 guest per pro. No standing around here, you will work your butt off while getting lots of constructive instruction and have a great time while you are doing it. The ROI (return on investment) is fantastic. Our 10 hours of instruction at the weekend clinic cost about 70% of what 10 hours of lessons would cost at my local tennis facility. Not to mention that the price also includes the accommodations and 10 great meals. The staff is HIGHLY trained and very personable. I’ve been there so much that I now stay in contact with one of the directors over a shared hobby. Already planning the next visit."—J.M., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Newk's is unique! I am a Coach Education Tutor and Tennis Director in the UK and we have been taking players there from our programme based in Liverpoolfor over 20 years and I have to say the experience is life changing! There's an unbelievably friendly atmosphere there - you are always made to feel part of a Tennis Family, whether it's on the Junior Camps, Academy or Adult Programme. Everyone goes away feeling they've done well and counting the days untill the next visit! Great coaching team led by Phil Hendrie on the Academy and Chris Jacques on the Adult Programmes - both totally motivational and committed to ensuring each and every player is valued. Our players always feel they can let go on court and work like they've never done before! The coaching is active, high intensity and above all, total fun! Accomodation is great too as are the meals and there's plenty of potential great local excursions for the evenings if you're there for the week. I have visited many resorts in the USA and its always been a great experience but this is the one we will always go back to - miss the Newk's experience and you'll miss out!"—D.S., Adv., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Thinking about a tennis vacation. Then think no more because there is really only one place to go. The John Newcombe Tennis Ranch. The wife and I have been going for years,and we can both honestly say that we NEVER had a bad time. Deep in the heart of the beautiful Texas hill country,the setting is beautiful as are the grounds;big shout out to those who keep it looking that way. Accommodations are just what you need. Hey folks,this is a ranch and not one of those overpriced resorts. Shout out to housekeeping for keeping the rooms clean. Food is terrific and very nourishing. Shout out to the kitchen staff. Oh yes,the tennis. Let's just say whether you are a serious tournament player,or a beginner or somewhere in between,then Newks is the place for you. Whatever YOU desire,the fantastic pros will do their very best to make it happen. It's really YOUR ranch from the time you check in until you check out. You want clay courts,they've got clay courts. You want covered courts,they've got those as well. You want individual attention in order to refine a specific stroke, they will work with you to help achieve YOUR goals. The drills are designed around the game based approach philosophy in that each is simulating actual match play. These drills not only allow you to work on technique, but they also test your fitness as well. Trust me,you will improve,but most importantly,you will have more fun than you thought possible both on and off the court. Chris,Adrian,Tavin,Melissa,and all of the pros are there for one thing,and that is to make sure you have the time of your life. Trust me,you will. There is one problem however: the time goes by way too quickly but by the end of your stay,you will say:I'll Be Back!!!!!!! I can just about guarantee that you will be back....again and again and again..."—K.K., Adv., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Newks is a fun place to train for tennis and for the serious players, go in the winter during the week. The weather is generally excellent and there will be more playing and coaching than your body can take. Then relax if you can and enjoy the surrounding restaurants and music scene. Great instruction value. All that is lacking is the accommodations. Think 70's flashback and you got it for the local condos."—D.S., Adv., March 2017
    John Newcombe Tennis Ranch responds: Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry that you were disappointed in the accommodations. Our condos were all constructed in the 1980’s- 90’s and we have upgraded all with new floors, new bathrooms, new furniture and decor and are currently upgrading kitchenettes. Please feel free to call us and let us know how we might improve further.
  • 5-Ball Rating "Lodging and food are a bargain. Tennis facilities and tennis instruction are top notch. We have been many years in a row now and our group continues to grow as we spread the word of the remarkable value and experience. Highly recommended!"—E.W., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a fantastic camp. The staff is very professional and knowledgeable about the game of tennis. The cabins and facilities are great as well. The adults even get to have fun at night dancing and adult beverages at the club bar. Will definitely go back. The kids even got to meet Mr. Newcombe."—C.B., Low Int., March 2017
  • 2-Ball Rating "Strengths, fun people. Young & cute pros. Weaknesses, not enough individual attention, too much time on court playing silly games rather than working refining strokes. Accommodations, too basic. Food, crummy."—S.F., Adv. Int., February 2017
    John Newcombe Tennis Ranch responds: We are so sorry that you were unhappy with our tennis program, accommodations and meals. Please feel free to call us to discuss specific issues, as we always welcome constructive criticism in the interests of improvement, and our goal is to try to please everyone always.
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had heard about the John Newcombe Tennis Camp but had never attended. I just attended this last weekend and it made me realized I had really been missing out. FANTASTIC camp, FABULOUS pros and staff - It was the best money I have spent in a long long time. I learned so much from the pro's - they were all so knowledgeable, friendly and FUN - what an awesome experience I will be coming back over and over and bringing and telling everyone I know. Thank you for an incredible experience. The accommodations were perfect I loved being right on the courts - the food was so good and the service great. I really can only think of one thing that would of improved it would of been if I could of stayed longer --- Great time and Great memories made. Thanks again for one of the best times i have had in some time."—M.G., Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had the best time! The instructors were phenomenal and the facilities were even better!! Cannot wait to go again!"—C.S., Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The John Newcombe Tennis Ranch is an excellent tennis camp. We were two tennis leagues vsiting from the Houston area and we all felt that we came away with new skills and an even greater love for the game. The pros kept us busy on the court with very few breaks. We enjoyed the way the camp is set up where you basically work on your own skills so you are not evaluated and put into specific groups which can cause hurt feelings and resentment. The pros made it a lot of fun while at the same time constantly letting you know what you did well but also correcting your grib, your swing etc. - the reason you were there! The food was delicious. I cannot think of any weaknesses - perhaps a few more lit sign to make it easier to find your way around the camp at night!"—S.A., Low Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attend the weekly adult clinics Newks currently offers on Monday and Thursday evenings (seasonal; when warmer, moves to 4x weekly Mon-Thurs) and thoroughly enjoy them. They hold the right amount of structure and I am able to see my friends, the "regulars" who attend. Sessions are affordable and last 90 min. Coaches are always enthusiastic and offer many good tips and techniques and drill. The bottom line is Newks is FUN and the clinics are great exercise. I encourage anyone in the area to try the adult clinics out, especially as the first session is free!"—C.M., Int., January 2017

See more reviews

Rate John Newcombe Tennis Ranch


Ratings

(413 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating Romance
3-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(413 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating Romance
3-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Rates vary seasonally at Newk's, reaching lows from November through February, when they offer a lot of 2-for-1 specials. All packages include accommodations, tennis instruction, and all meals. Prices are quoted per person assume double occupancy. Single-occupancy rates are also available.

November 2015-February 2016
Weekends: $314-$362/person. 5-day: $814-$945/person

March-October, 2016
Weekends: $345-$405/person. 5-day: $860-$1,012/person

John Newcombe Tennis Ranch
325 Mission Valley Rd.
New Braunfels, TX 78132
830-625-9105
Toll-free: 800-444-6204
Fax: 830-625-2004
Web Link: John Newcombe Tennis Ranch


Special For Tennis Resorts Online

TRO Exclusive: Save $100!


John Newcombe Tennis Ranch Tennis Resorts Online users can claim a special $100/person discount on any adult all-inclusive week-long camp program. To get it, telephone reservations toll-free at 800-444-6204 or email the Ranch. You must mention Tennis Resorts Online to get the discount. Request a brochure.


©2017 Roger Cox

Ratings

(413 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating Romance
3-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating


Copperwynd Text+Graphic
Stunning Views and Tennis Bliss in the McDowell Mountains at CopperWynd Resort & Club, Arizona. Enjoy luxury accommodations, gourmet dining, world-class tennis instruction and more at this scenic Sonoran Desert mountain resort. Fall Tennis Package specials for singles, couples and teams starting at $376. For information and reservations, call 480 333 1842 or visit experiencecdt.com/scottsdale-tennis-camps


©2017 Roger Cox