Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Resort at Longboat Key Club, Longboat Key, Florida
Courtesy the Resort at Longboat Key Club

The Resort at Longboat Key Club

Longboat Key, Florida


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Resort at Longboat Key Club.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Friendly staff. Clinics were terrific. Pro shop very well stocked and super nice staff."—S.B., Int., November 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.W., Low Int., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "18 courts that are in a beautiful setting and well maintained with beautiful clay and clean and welcoming amenities. The pro shop is very well stocked and the staff is excellent. All pros were great instructors each giving a new approach to the game."—S.D., Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent facility. Tennis is integrated with local players so there was a reliable group for the tennis concierge to draw on when lining up matches for me. I had matches for all four days I was there. The staff was nice and cooperative."—D.F., Adv. Int., October 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is the very best place I have ever been! Let me say, I have been to Four Seasons Nevus, Caneel Bay, Sea Island, Amelia Island, etc... so I do have a sound foundation to make this review. Without a doubt, Longboat Tennis is number 1! I hope you do read the review in its entirety. The two pros that I work with are Sammy Aviles and Jackie Bohannon. They are the best I have ever taken lessons from and believe me I have taken A LOT of lessons. Their styles are different but very much compliment each other to get a well rounded experience. I now drive 2 hours at least 3 times a month to take lessons with them. So if you read no more, you must go to Longboat Tennis! It is truly AMAZING! I first experienced Longboat Key with my recreational tennis team in Feb. 2015. The stand out was Sammy Aviles for me. He really picked up quickly on small technical mistakes that made huge difference in results. Subsequently, a few of us took one on one lessons with him which continued to be hugely beneficial from technical and strategic (we play doubles) standpoints. At one point, Sammy made a correction to my friend's approach backhand which yielded amazing results. She turned to me and said, "Seriously, how is it that no one has ever told me that?" [We play in Orlando and worked with serveral pros (12+ easily) and have done summer clinics]. He is positive and has great energy which is just a plus. But he is truly excellent at picking up quickly on what one is doing wrong and tweaking it. Again, he is gret at employing strategy into the clinic/lessons as well. He is just all around fantastic on all levels. My team went back the following February again; I believe we made reservations as soon as we left and started a countdown calendar. ;) The experience was just as amazing as the year prior. We made sure to reserve Sammy well in advance. That year we also got to work with Jackie who put together a 2 hour "live ball" for 6 of our team. We had never done anything quite like that and it was challenging and so much fun! I am not sure we could move when it was over though. We were all so impressed again that we booked private and shared lessons with Sammy and Jackie. (More about Jackie below) I visited The Longboat Resort and take lessons a few more times in 2016 but because of work and kid demands mostly spent my time with local, well respected pros. In Feb 2017, we headed back to our now annual trip to Longboat. We again worked with Sammy and Jackie. We also worked with Randy who was also excellent. My personal experience is my game had suffered in the preceding year and I was frustrated. So, I stopped all lessons in Orlando, made a standing weekly reservation at The Resort (grateful for Florida resident discount) and lesson with Jackie over the summer and Sammy when available. My game has improved and I am gaining my lost confidence. Jackie has really pushed me beyond what I thought I was capable of doing and I am already a type A personality. She is invested (as is Sammy) and wants to make sure every second of our lessons are utilized efficiently. She has taught me different strokes, beyond basics and makes sure to introduce something new each time. She pays close attention to how I learn and will approach things different ways until I get it. I like her no nonsense approach as I am not one who likes to waste time. Though I do have to beg for water breaks sometimes. Lol. I also had the pleasure of joining some of her team clinics and live ball sessions during the summer. All the members have been so friendly and I have enjoyed and benefitted from the opportunity to play with them. I also further appreciated Jackie's dedication because she showed she was invested in every person on the court improving and doing their best. Though I was fortunate to live close enough to take advantage of going frequently this past year, we all got so much out of just 1-2 hour clinics! My friends and I are now trying to make it officially a twice a year trip. Let me also mention that the facility is beautiful, courts amazing, people so friendly, pro shop people helpful, etc! There always seems to be a little breeze being off the Gulf of Mexico. The resort has wonderful accommodations. When I go with the group, we get a 2 bedroom suite which is such a delight with gorgeous views. The white sand beaches cannot be beat either! But I have literally stayed in every room type the Resort has to offer and the golf and lagoon rooms are still magnificent. That said, I love waking up and looking out on the beach and water! The front desk of the hotel is extremely accommodating and pleasant as is the bell men, housekeeping, etc... They even have been gifting me a bottle of wine In my room for the last 5-7 visits. This is a must go for all tennis enthusiasts of all levels!"—B.H., Int., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I had a wonderful long weekend at staying at Longboat Key Club and playing at The Tennis Gardens. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the teaching and coaching and learned a lot during both drills and private lessons (Thanks Ken). They had trouble arranging a 4.5 level game in early October however one of the teaching pros stepped in and played, making an enjoyable game - Thanks Ken. The tennis facility is spectacular with all courts isolated to the point where errant balls will never stop play, the courts are surrounded by ponds and wonderful nature scape. There were a handful of pros all actively engaged in teaching, training and ensuring the members & hotel guests were having a great time and everyone had a terrific energy about them. The rooms at the Key Club leave a lot to be desired and are certainly not the caliber of a world class resort. Turndown service consisted of them leaving 2 chocolates on our bed and not actually turning down the bed. Our suite had a dated kitchen, tiny bathroom and underwhelming fixtures and furnishings throughout. The views were spectacular but the hotel common areas and rooms need updating. The hotel is a 3 mile drive from the tennis facility so be prepared to either drive or have the hotel shuttle you back and forth to the tennis center. The shuttle guys were all great, friendly and prompt. We even had one offer to take us out to see where the pelicans sleep in the bush at sunset, certainly the bell staff who man the shuttles know how to service their clients. Every person we encountered went out of their way to make this a great trip, The Tennis Gardens are top notch and for the room price you shouldn't expect Ritz Carlton level accommodations. I would definitely go back to The Tennis Gardens if and when they update the hotel."—B.B., Adv., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have just returned from The Resort at Longboat and I can't commend it high enough! As a family of 4 who all love tennis, we were not disappointed in anyway. The staff are exceptional and sorted with Jon a 2:1 with our children as there was no 'kids camp' that particular week. Randy was an exceptional coach our kid adored him :-) and so were Sammy/Mirage & Ken. A particular highlight was with Jackie who ran the 'live ball' session, 'wow!' a fanastic energetic well thought out hour & a half of great tennis! I have to say the pro-shop was just the most amazing well stocked shop I have been to - I was like a kid in a sweet shop??we had to buy another suitcase to fit my purchases in - Jackie the lady who orders the tennis outfits has exquisite taste. I must also mention the wonderful attentive ladies in the pro-shop, Sandy, Sandra & Polly, you are all wonderful ladies, thank you for making our stay so amazing."—T.M., Adv., August 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis Pro Shop has an extensive variety of tennis apparel and gear for men, women and children. The service was wonderful, personal and attentive! The coaching staff were friendly and very experienced. Took a clinic and private lesson from Ken Howard and I learned so much in such a short period of time. Had my racquet restrung in less than 12 hours based upon my playing needs. They even arranged for a match opportunities during our stay. The facilities are beautifully maintained and the staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. What a wonderful weekend we enjoyed at the Longboat Key Club! We'll definitely return!"—A.C., Int., August 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful surroundings. Instructor at clinic a little too basic for higher levels, but always come away with some tips long forgotten"—B.I., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic facilities with top notch instruction and clinics. Jackie was particularly good and runs a high intensity clinic that is a lot of fun."—S.B., Adv., July 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I traveled to Longboat Key Resort with tennis and relaxation on my mind and I was not disappointed. We signed up for the daily clinic and also took a private with Sammy. His knowledge of the game is unsurpassed and he explained things in a way that made sense for me. He did not try to change my game, but made a few minor adjustments that will make a big difference in my technical abilities, doubles strategy, shot selection, and mindset. The tennis gardens are beautiful. They are located about 3 miles from the resort so you will need to grab a shuttle or rent a car. There was absolutely no traffic or crowded beaches while we were there in June. The resort is a little dated, but it is very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the beaches are gorgeous. You can find packages that include beach chairs and a resort credit or possibly find a USTA discount. I'm already planning to bring my team here for a girls'/tennis trip!"—J.P., Int., July 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Match arranging and private tennis lessons were fantastic."—W.V., Adv., June 2017

See more reviews

Rate Resort at Longboat Key Club


Ratings

(319 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Elite Tennis Travel


Doubles Boot Camps

Visit one of the award-winning Cliff Drysdale Tennis programs in Florida for a Luxury Ladies Retreat this fall. Omni Amelia Island Plantation, October 11-15. Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, October 4-8 or 18-22. Contact us for more information at 830-625-5911, x208 or visit  Cliff Drysdale Ladies Retreats


Ratings

(319 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging ranges from guest rooms to suites, some as large as two bedrooms.

Visit the website for current rates

The Resort at Longboat Key Club
220 Sands Point Rd.
Longboat Key, FL 34228