Tennis Resorts Online, the Leading Guide to Tennis Travel and Tennis Vacations
Your Definitive Guide To Tennis Travel





Saddlebrook Resort
Saddlebrook Tennis (Hopman)

Wesley Chapel, Florida


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Saddlebrook Resort and Saddlebrook Tennis (Hopman).

  • 4½-Ball Rating "We found the camp to be physically intense but not overwhelming with good breaks and many camp-provided amenities and refreshments. The quality of the instruction was superb with direct instructor feedback after almost every stroke. The variety of drills and point play kept things fresh and interesting. Great value for a 5 hour per day adult camp with a 3:1 student-teacher ratio. The resort was fantastic. Great food, great service, great amenities. We enjoyed time in almost all of their restaurants (fine and casual dining) as well as the spa and pools. We would definitely return."—C.S., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Saddle brook Tennis program improved my game. The clinics are proper size and the instructors have the skills to quickly assess your game and individualize teaching. My two private lessons with Larry also helped my game. He has many years of experience that allows him to hone in on your weaknesses and make rapid corrections. Larry showed me patterns to win my singles matches and he is keen on the psychological aspect of winning. Thank you to Larry and the saddle brook tennis center."—L.M., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I coach tennis at a school in the Boston area and brought my team down for 5 days of preseason training. This was all of our first time at Saddlebrook. While the kids played at the junior camp, I participated in adult clinics. We were all impressed with the coaching staff, the facilities, and the services available. The team felt that they got a solid workout each day and appreciated the low athlete to pro ratio and being able to hit with a lot of different kids of all ages and experience levels. They especially enjoyed the drills designed to improve the mental side of their game. At the end of each day, they were exhausted but pleased that the resort offered buses to Walmart and the mall so they could pick up snacks and go out for frozen yogurt. As an adult, I felt comfortably challenged by the clinics. I mostly worked with DJ and Larry who were excellent pros who helped me break down each part of my game and improve piece by piece. They introduced a ton of different drills and did an outstanding job of simplifying and scaffolding each stroke and explaining a variety of match scenarios. Overall, it was a win-win: the kids had a great experience and I got to improve my game while chaperoning."—A.H.,  March 2017
  • 2½-Ball Rating "I had an absolutely amazing 5-day tennis vacation at Saddlebrook. It was my first tennis camp and the tennis program was well worth the time and money. The program was fun and challenging and the coaching staff were amazing. The program director, Howard Moore ,is doing an outstanding job with the tennis program."—Y.D., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I visited Saddlebrook for the first time on a girls tennis weekend in February 2017, had such a great experience that I went back alone in March, and already have April trip booked with my husband. I am a solid 3.0 player (working towards 3.5) and have taken a lot of lessons since beginning to play two years ago. There is no better value than Saddlebrook....it is basically getting the best pros in the country for half the hourly price of a staff pro at home. They are very accommodating to Hopman players, think early check in and late check out. Single travelers are common and I met lots of fun people to share dinner and pool time with on the last trip. They also were very accommodating to our club team in February and let us play in the same group. The rooms are ok, need a little updating. They are 3 star at best, but the service is amazing and it is very clean. I was rarely in the room so really did not notice, and was too pumped up about the tennis to care, especially on the second trip when knew what to expect. If you want luxury, go to the Ritz, but you won't get nearly as good of a workout. My husband and I have attempted to play tennis in programs at very nice resorts and have found them to be overpriced and just ok. At saddlebrook, the focus is definitely on the sport. There is a good steakhouse and sports bar, much better than many hotel restaurants. Spa is very well priced and had the best massage ever. There does not seem to be a bad pro there, but I especially enjoyed working with Larry and Phil. I picked up many pointers from Phil by being paired in his group for a session each trip. On the second trip, I spent the majority of my time on larry's court and my pro at home said I came back much improved. Saddlebrook is as good as it gets for good tennis and a great value for those wanting great instruction at a comfortable resort"—S.J., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I cannot believe how FANTASTIC this Tennis Resort is... Larry and Howard are the FINEST instructors EVER!! They recognized my (errors) and fine tuned a way to repair them... I learned more in my time here than my 5 years of playing!!! We will be back!"—D.L., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was my first experience at a tennis camp. I absolutely loved it!!! The booking process is very easy and is all handled through Hopman. Sandra was so responsive to our questions and needs. The instructors are all really nice and professional. They really take the time to get to know the players and adapt a plan for their stay. The directors (Howard and Sean) were very involved and definitely made sure all players were happy. The level of instruction was really strong and again, adapted to the players they were teaching. I can't wait to go back!"—K.S., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I wanted to take a moment to express my sincere appreciation for the excellent service of the Hopman tennis center team this week. The office and pro shot were so accommodating, helpful and pleasant as I added extra sessions and lessons for myself and my 6 year old twins. The coaching team was fantastic. Especially coaches Carol and Jeffrey who took amazing care of my 6 year very active twins. The twins have never really been in formal tennis lesson before and Carol and Jeffrey brought out the very best in them. And the kids both had so much fun in the first day afternoon sessions that they asked to do morning and afternoon. After that, they even wanted more, so we added private lessons to a few days, which meant that for several days they were in 6 hours of instruction and still wanted to play more after that. A very good reflection on the coaching! Also I'd like to acknowledge Larry. He was outstanding. He managed a very diverse group (me being the weakest link:) ) one afternoon, with skill, humor and expertise. He also was an excellent teacher for my friend and I ?when we did a semi private lesson with him on another day. We learned more in that hour than we thought possible. He was terrific in every aspect. Such a depth of knowledge. Great pedagogy approach and a lot of passion and genuine interest in making us improve our skills. We are grateful that the team at Saddlebrook make tennis accessible and interesting. My family will definitely be back again as often as we can."—M.S., Beg., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had so much fun! Howard, the director, went above and beyond for us. He was friendly to everyone (all the groups). Inviting everyone to the bar afterwards to socialize. How nice is that? Like one big family. Especially loved Sean as our pro. Loved how Howard jumped in on all the courts. Very useful tips."—M.G., Low Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Had a great 5 day 2 sessions/day experience at Saddlebrook a few weeks ago. I was fortunate to have an excellent pro, Zora, for all 5 days. A friend of mine joined me for 6 of the sessions. The staff made sure we had well matched players on the court with us(we are 4.5 level). I understand that Saddlebrook is emphasizing keeping everyone's group equal in tennis ability. Pluses: All the pros are accomplished players and have great backgrounds. Zora is outstanding, but I saw great teaching down the line. You will hit more tennis balls at Saddlebrook than any other place I know(I've been to several others) The pros are very willing to spend extra time working on a weakness. The more work you are willing to put in, I guarantee, the more improvement you will see. You may think that's true everywhere, but at Saddlebrook, they will show you innovative ways to break down your old habits. Zora played many points with us and participated in some of the drills as needed. That kept the tennis lively and competitive. Negatives: The resort itself is nice and the rooms are good, but no Wow factor. Restaurants and exercise facility are also all good. There is a full service Spa which is supposed to be very good, but I've never been in it(I'm a guy). It's easy to fly into Tampa. Wesley Chapel is 40 minutes away and there isn't much around. Going into Tampa for nightlife is too big of a deal in my opinion, though others do it."—B.S., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've been going to Saddlebrook for the past 25 years with friends and family. Howard Moore and his staff do a great job of ensuring an intense, fun experience for players of all levels. There are never more than 4 players per court, so the action is non-stop. My pro this year was Zora, who pushed me just hard enough and gave sound feedback on my stroke technique. She really understood my game and gave me tips I could use right away. I know of no better way to work on my game and prepare for the summer tennis season than a long weekend at Saddlebrook."—J.H., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I want to tell all who are looking for a tennis camp to highly consider Hopson at Saddlebrook. I am a 74 yr. old former club payer who went to this camp to sharpen my club game in ATL who benefited greatly from the coaching/instruction from Coach Larry. I have been to 7 camps in my career and he was the BEST coach above all. The difference was he taught strategy in addition to stokes, etc. His teaching method is awesome----take advantage !!"—B.K., Int., February 2017

See more reviews


Ratings

(700 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Saddlebrook Tennis (Hopman) Ratings
( 586 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(700 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating


Saddlebrook Tennis (Hopman) Ratings
( 586 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

The room rates quoted below are special discounts for those who also enroll in a Saddlebrook International Tennis Academy (at least one guest must be taking the tennis-instruction series). By booking tennis and lodging together, you get a deluxe guest room, 5 hours/day of intensive tennis, complimentary court time, daily lunch, and access to the fitness center and spa. One- and two-bedroom suites with full kitchens are also available (call for rates). Mention Tennis Resorts Online when you book and you'll receive an upgrade to a one-bedroom suite (subject to availability) and a complimentary Saddlebrook Amenity Basket. Other packages and room rates are available.

Dec. 6, 2015-Apr. 9, 2016
Single: $275-$315/night; Double: $170-$220/person/night

Apr. 10-May. 28, 2016
Single: $235-$275/night; Double: $150-$200/person/night

May 29-Oct. 1, 2016
Single: $175-$205/night; Double: $120-$155/person/night

Oct. 2-Dec. 3, 2016
Single: $235-$275/night; Double: $150-$200/person/night

Tennis Instruction Rates
Saddlebrook Tennis Programs (instruction only): 2 days, $440/person; 5 days, $775/person

Saddlebrook Resort
5700 Saddlebrook Way
Wesley Chapel, FL 33543-4499
813-907-4200
Toll-free: 800-729-8383, x4200
Fax: 813-973-2936
Web Link: Saddlebrook Resort



Special For Tennis Resorts Online

Free Upgrade to One-bedroom Suite + Amenity Basket


Saddlebrook International Tennis at Saddlebrook Resort Book the Saddlebrook Tennis School (which offers five hours a day of instruction) and a regular deluxe guest room at Saddlebrook Resort and they'll upgrade you to a one-bedroom suite* at no extra cost (two-night minimum) and include a complimentary Saddlebrook Amenity basket.

To get it, phone toll-free 800-729-8383, x4200 and ask for the Tennis Resorts Online Upgrade.

*Subject to availability at the time of booking

©2017 Roger Cox


Expedia.com

Doubles Boot Camps

Visit the award-winning Cliff Drysdale Tennis program at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation this spring. Doubles Boot Camps, February 10-12 and 24-26. Luxury Ladies Retreat, May 3-7. Adult Tennis Camps offered every day of the year. Contact us for more information about our amazing camp-organizers-come-for-free special at 904 277 5151 or yana.orlova@omnihotels.com or visit Amelia Island Tennis Camps



Ratings

(700 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating


Saddlebrook Tennis (Hopman) Ratings
( 586 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

©2017 Roger Cox