Tennis Resorts Online, the Leading Guide to Tennis Travel and Tennis Vacations
Your Definitive Guide To Tennis Travel





Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge Taos

Taos, New Mexico


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge Taos.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Unique. Special. First, the physical description; then the more-important intangible ambience. The club and resort sit in the Taos valley a few miles north of the town on the road to the ski area, surrounded by stately peaks. You sit on the porch of the tennis club after a morning of play and, in the summer, watch the afternoon thunderheads roll in. The owner of the tennis club is the boundlessly energetic Kurt Edelbrock. The Quail Ridge Resort consists of several dozen privately-owned condos adjacent to the courts, and is formally separate from the tennis club. However, Kurt manages many of the units, so there is a close practical connection. The club consists of ten hard courts, a swimming pool and spa, and a pro shop and reception area. It serves both locals and resort guests. Don’t expect five-star elegance. The condos are basic 1970s-style, though serviceable enough. So what is special about this place? In a phrase, the exceptionally-welcoming hospitality. Kurt and his affable associate Sid are tireless in arranging drop-ins and set matches for us temporary “members”. So you can come by yourself and be instantly fitted into the little civilization that Kurt and Sid have created here. Anyone who has jawed or bought his way into standard clubs around the world will recognize how rare this is For anyone who comes for the tennis in a companionable setting, rather than to be seen or to be pampered, this is the place."—J.K., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We spent a month. The head pro Kurt gave excellent clinics and individual instruction. The assistant pro's were also excellent. They would set you up with games when you wanted and there was drop in tennis as well.There is a very good on site restaurant open Thursday through Sunday and numerous great eateries nearby. Taos itself is an interesting city with numerous galleries and restaurants. There is also great hiking in the area. Overall a very affordable,fun experience."—H.P., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Nice, well maintained facility. Lots of opportunity to play tennis or pickleball. The staff was great. Kurt and Cid were very helpful and friendly. We plan to spend a month in the area next year."—R.N., Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "After reading about Taos Tennis at tennisresortsonline.com, I booked three days there as part of a one month journey across the USA. That turned out to be a great experience - we could not have been more fortunate in our choice of tennis resort. Me and my girlfriend stayed at a resort apartment, and received terrific service from start to end: We enjoyed free court time and ball machine, inspiring pro tennis instructions, and they even arranged a match for me with a local player on very short notice. Both pro shop and resort staff were great company, very friendly and extremely service minded. Taos, the scenery and climate was even better than expected as well. We had several other good tennis experiences later on our trip across the country, but Taos Tennis was the by far best private tennis resort experience we had. The Value was just incredible - If I knew a place like this in Europe, I would fly in several weeks a year to play"—T.U., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family and I come here every year and have found the service friendly, accessible and gracious. Our children love the tennis lessons and the expert instructors have instilled in them an enthusiasm and love for the sport. I am very grateful to the Quail Ridge and everyone who is associated with them."—W.C., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "An outstanding setting with excellent courts. If the weather is not accommodating wait an hour and it will be. The staff is continuously accommodating. The rooms at the complex are comfortable, clean and well appointed. We typically go for a tournament the second weekend in July every year and never fail to enjoy this. Kurt runs a tight ship and an efficient tournament. Staying here is not like staying at a hotel but a very comfortable summer camp."—D.B., Beg., July 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Kurt is friendly and runs a fun tournament. Players from New Mexico, Colorado , and Texas primarily attend. Competition is strong and everyone is friendly. Player party on Saturday is a good time. The resort features condos on site. Courts have been resurfaced within the year."—C.R., Beg., July 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great stop. Beautiful setting, incredible views and weather. Great proshop staff. Very friendly and helpful."—P.S., Low Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge is a gem of a small resort about 10 miles north of the tourist destination, Taos, New Mexico. The resort is a mecca for local players and visitors alike. The courts and court side pool are kept in top form, a difficult proposition given the intense Northern New Mexico climate that encompasses a wild range of temperatures and moisture. The setting of Taos Tennis is almost unparalleled. At 7,000 feet elevation, situated on a sage-covered plain, one plays with giant panormaic views of 13,000 foot mountains, the famed Taos Pueblo, and the Rio Grande as it snakes through the the vast Taos Valley plateau. I was in Taos for a month, bought a monthly pass, played some pick up tennis and then more consistent tennis with a friend. You won't meet friendlier, more helpful staff who know the game and the business. There's a wonderful restaurant/cafe next door and the club is contained on two sides by attractive condominiums. Taos is a beautiful place to visit and having Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge available is a big, big bonus for visitors who must play wherever they go."—P.R., Adv. Int., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The most breathtaking scenery. Friendly staff and great instructors. The elevation can cause concern and Kurt and his team ensure that the pace meets everyone's abilities. Truly enjoyed the Shot of the day clinics and for a more customized option, a private lesson. You can't go wrong. I learned a tonne. Only drawback was there is no night play, but for me this was not a concern."—J.M., Int., September 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis resort; Kurt Edelbrock is a wonderful instructor! Weather is fabulous and the backdrop of the mountains makes it a beautiful setting. Lots of courts and lots of fun people to play with!"—R.E., Low Int., September 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent facility and the great staff. Wonderful atmosphere to play. We felt totally at home. Many thanks,"—E.P., Low Int., September 2016

See more reviews

Rate Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge Taos


Ratings

(147 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Elite Tennis Travel


Ratings

(147 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging consists of individually owned condominiums, which range in size from rooms with kitchenettes to units with two bedrooms and full kitchens. Most have fireplaces and private patios or balconies. A cleaning fee applies and varies with the size of the unit.

Jan. 1-Dec. 21, 2017
$85-$200/night

Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge Taos
88 State Road 150
Taos, NM 87571
575-776-3447
Toll-free: 800-624-4448
Fax: 575-776-3446
Web Link: Taos Tennis at Quail Ridge Taos

©2017 Roger Cox

Ratings

(147 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Elite Tennis Travel



©2017 Roger Cox