Wild Dunes 728 banner

Tennis Resorts Online, the Leading Guide to Tennis Travel and Tennis Vacations
Your Definitive Guide To Tennis Travel





Shipyard Plantation
Van Der Meer Tennis

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Shipyard Plantation and Van Der Meer Tennis, Shipyard.

  • 4-Ball Rating "Good camp. Andy led the Group. Very knowledgeable. Video Analysis was very helpful. Beautiful clay courts. Drill and instruction were well done. There was more match play at this camp then any of my other previous camps (Saddlebrook, Sugarbush, Stowe, Amelia Island) The location was excellent. Shipyard Plantation is very desirable. Stay at the Sonesta ( 1 minute walk ) was excellent. Included pool and beachfront. Restaurants were good. June in Hilton Head is HOT and HUMID. Take this in consideration when signing up for 10 hour weekend camp. About 12 adult campers with experience ranging from 2.5-4.0"—P.K., Int., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is my go to tennis resort in Hilton Head.The pros are seriously great teachers and the players there want to learn. I love that they offer level- specific daily classes to hone your skills against like players. And the setting is so peaceful."—P.S., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.R., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended a weekend clinic May 2016. We arrived a day early so we started with a daily program. There were only 3 of us on court so we got great instruction, hit a ton of balls and got quite the work out. The weekend clinic was full but was well organized and had plenty of instructors. We were matched up well with players of similar ability. Dr. Louie is very entertaining and has a phenomenal memory. He can walk by your court and remind you of a mistake your making that he taught you on a previous day. We covered a lot in a short time and the video analysis was helpful. No gimmicks here, just solid instruction. We will definitely return for a future visit."—J.K., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended the Advanced Adult Weekend Clinic at Van Der Meer Tennis Center in Shipyard Plantation on HHI, SC for the 3rd time at the end of October 2016. There were 3 other couples we knew who also attended. The pros did a great job of working with us on all aspects of our tennis games. And many of the pointers we received are ones we've been able to incorporate into our matches back here in the Atlanta area. The only downside was that it didn't last longer. However, for the time we spent on the courts, it was an intense workout. We look forward to coming back again."—T.B., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have visited the Van Der Meer Tennis Center on Hilton Head Island for quite a few years and highly recommend the facility. I particularly like the knowledgeable staff and friendly atmosphere. My family enjoyed the the location near the beach and the chance to experience the Hilton Head Island experience. I have always benefited from the coaching I have received from Van Der Meer as have my players because I am a High School Coach. My young players enjoyed the rigorous tennis workouts and skill building sessions at their Junior clinic. I would like to see Van Der Meer improve there indoor facility but that is a minor complaint of mine. I look forward to returning to Van Der Meer and Hilton Head Island soon."—R.B., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Good facilities Friendly instructors Would like to see more video analysis"—J.L., Int., January 2017
  • 3-Ball Rating "Good for 3.5 and below at the BOOMER program for 5 days. Definitely can improve your overall skills if you apply yourself..Lots of repetitive workouts using different shot distances.. Older players have a more difficult time adjusting to new habits.. Only real negative was lack of shot types, such as drop or backhand slice .. Overall a satisfying experience with a congenial staff."—T.W., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.B., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I really enjoyed the instruction and the opportunity to play games with the March 2016 tennis camp at Van Der Meer Tennis. Dr. Louis Cap and Ramon were excellent instructors; a very nice touch was to review our shots with video. An excellent quality was the fact that we were a very small group - just eight with two instructors. Extremely useful were the warm-up sessions. I would strongly recommend Van Der Meer tennis. I enjoyed my week there tremendously and look forward to returning."—M.S., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Van Der Meer Clinics are the best. We have been going for the last 25 years and have missed very few years. We try to go the the Advanced Clinic at the end of Oct or early Nov for 4.0 and above. We always have great competition and a great time."—C.B., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I attended a Boomer Tennis Camp, thinking I'd be able to manage morning and afternoon sessions with seniors. But there were no ladies who lunch here--four full courts of competitive fun. The group of 16 was sorted at first and instruction began in groups of similar level. After starting every day with a set of injury preventing dynamic stretches it was onto the focus of the day with instruction tailored to develop each participant's strengths. Instructors were experienced and made it fun, and it was a great value on top of that. I just loved it and plan to go back again this year."—J.S., Int., January 2017

See more reviews


Ratings

(322 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis Ratings
( 191 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating


Wild Dunes 250x250


LBK 2017



Ratings

(322 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis Ratings
( 191 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

The Van der Meer organization has arrangements with a variety of Hilton Head lodging properties, in and out of Shipyard, at generally attractive discount prices. Check with them for current prices. Prices of selected clinics appear below.

Jan.-Dec. 2017
Clinics (instruction only): 8 hours, $250; 10 hours, $310; 16 hrs, $410; 18 hrs, $425.

TotalTennis University: May 15-19, 2017
31 hours: $525

TotalTennis University: July 31-Aug. 4, 2017
31 hours: $525

TotalTennis University: Sept. 18-22, 2017
31 hours: $525

Shipyard Plantation
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
843-785-8388
Toll-free: 800-845-6138
Fax: 843-785-7032
Web Link: Shipyard Plantation
Internet Rates! Other Hilton Head Island Lodging. Check For Internet Specials at Hotels, Condos, and Villas


©2017 Roger Cox

Ratings

(322 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis Ratings
( 191 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating


LBK 2017


Expedia.com




LBK 2017


Expedia.com


©2017 Roger Cox